Windows 10 default settings to immediately change after install

Microsoft releases its new Windows 10 operating system on July 29th,2015 and is now busy in pushing it to its Windows 7 and 8 users located all over the world. Very recently, in the first week of October 2015, the company revealed that its new OS is working on over 110 million devices.

Though, the new Win 10 OS is being offered with a plethora of useful new features, its usage all over the world is being marred by many controversies. For instance, in terms of functionality and performance, the new OS offers substantial improvements with features such as revamped start menu, digital assistance Cortana, and Action Center. But a number of things which Microsoft has set Windows 10 to are annoying and absurd. Here are some of those top settings offered with a fix.

Auto updates- When Microsoft released Windows 10, it didn’t provide Windows 10 Home users with the ability to pause or skip any updates. Later on Microsoft backtracked a little and gave Home users the ability to stop automatic app updates, but it still doesn’t offer any option to users to pause, or stop Windows updates. The simplest way is to go into settings>>>> wireless network connection option and>>>>Switch to metered connection. By opting for a metered connection option, Microsoft will stop pushing updates to your Windows 10 computer, as it realizes that you are on a limited plan.

Also you can download the “Disabling select updates” tool from Microsoft website and start using it to stop auto updates.

Stop automatic restart- If you don’t have an issue with the automatic updates that Microsoft is sending in your way, you will perhaps still appreciate if your system didn’t reboot immediately every time it installed an update on your computer. To reschedule automatic reboots, follow the steps:

  • Open start menu and search for advanced update and choose advanced windows update option
  • Under the option, select advanced options and on the top, change the settings to “notify the Schedule restart”.

Disable Keylogger- By default in Windows 10, Microsoft observes what you’re typing and saying to the machine. It uses this as feedback to make its service better. If you’re too paranoid by this, and are afraid of the potential security implications, there’s a simple way to disable this “keylogging” feature.

  • Go to Start menu and open Settings.
  • Click on Privacy settings, and choose General option inside it.
  • Disable the option that says Send Microsoft info about how I write to help use improve typing and writing in the future
  • Once done, find Speech, Inking and Typing menu and select the option that says Stop getting to know me and toggle its setting to off.

Note- be careful, as other options may confuse you in making a quick decision.

Windows 10 uses your bandwidth to serve others- By default, Microsoft shares your Internet connection to deliver Windows updates to other users. The company does so in a peer-to-peer (P2P) fashion. This may turn worse to those who use a metered bandwidth, as your fair usage limit will be slurped by Microsoft to server others.

But the good news is that this can also be stopped. Here’s how you can do it:

  • Go to settings page, click on update& security feature
  • Open windows update section to the left and then select advanced options link from the right.
  • Click choose how updates are received and toggle the switch under it to the “OFF” position.

Disable Wi-Fi Sense- If you plan to stop sharing your Microsoft password with you Facebook and Skype friends, just follow these steps-

  • Open START menu, and search for Wi-FI settings and select Change Wi-Fi settings options.
  • Inside it, Click on Manage Wi-Fi settings, and untick the options listed under for networks I select, share them with my.

Stop Notification- Windows Action Center feature is a notifications hub that props up important updates required for all your apps and systems functionalities. If you feel this notification annoying, then just follow these steps—

  • Go to start menu and search for Notifications and action settings
  • Under the Notifications, find show app notification and turn the toggle to OFF state.

Delete files to claim free up to 20GB space- If you’ve upgraded your machine from Windows 7 or Windows 8.1 to Windows 10, you might be surprised to find how much space the new operating system is hopping on your computer’s hard drive. It happens because for the first 30 days, Microsoft keeps the Windows files of your old operating system – in case you wanted to switch back. If you’re sure Windows 10 is right for you, you can delete the Windows.old folder from the C drive of your computer to claim about 20GB free space (depends on the data you are storing on your previous OS platform, the apps and functions you were accessing on the previous OS platform)

You can’t simply delete it, however. For getting it off of your computer, you will need another built-in program.

  • Open Start menu and search for Disk cleanup. Once done, it will ask you to pick the drive you want to scan.
  • Choose the driver where Windows is installed (usually C drive) and let it scan your computer.
  • Once done, click on Clean up system files on the following page.
  • This will make the application scan your drive once more. Once you’ve got the results, deselect every option except Previous Windows installation(s) (unless you know what you are doing and want to leave them on) click OK.


The best way to stay out of these troubles is to stay away from Windows 10 new installation or free upgrade until Microsoft clears all the mysteries and starts to maintain a transparency on what it is going to do with its new Windows 10 in coming days.

Note- The free upgrade from Windows 7, Windows 8 and Windows 8.1 will be limited to June 2016.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s